Skip to content

From Russia With Art

October 17, 2011

A few days ago I was perusing a Web site devoted to art and artists, and ambled into a conversation among artists about how to best present themselves on their personal sites in order to attract interest from buyers.

There are so many great artists. But why do some do well while others languish? I believe artists must connect with their market. A personal connection sells art! Ultimately, buyers want to know about the artist from whom the creation emerged. It’s like contemplating a sunset. Who can watch the sun set and not yearn to know its creator?

When Julia Bright, a wonderful artist in Colorado, mentioned in a blog entry that she could use some help, I visited her site, edited her “Artist Statement” and emailed it to her for consideration. She immediately responded with gratitude, saying she would definitely use my re-write. It felt great to do something unexpected for someone I didn’t know for no reason other than to help out and make a new friend. These opportunities make life special. I plan to take advantage of them more often!

Here’s what I wrote to Julia in my email:  

Julia: Love your work. There’s more power in the first person. I want to hear YOU talking to me (concisely) about your experience and feelings. The text below reads more interesting and should help the reader connect with you…
 
The work of the “Old Masters” has always mesmerized me. I spent hours as a little girl at the Hermitage Museum in St. Petersburg, Russia, and later at the Louvre in Paris studying the works of Rembrandt, Chardin and Ingres. Living and working in Western Europe allowed me to observe the beauty, movement of light, and the balance of composition that made these masterpieces so compelling. After moving to the U.S. in 1979, I adjusted to American life as a high school student, connecting with my newly adopted culture through drawing, painting, and attending museums and galleries in my new home, Denver, Colorado. Eventually, I pursued an MBA in marketing and a successful career in marketing management.  At 32, I decided to pursue my dream and become a full-time fine artist. Like the Masters, I believe oil paintings should evoke a feeling of beauty, elegance and the colorful pleasures of life; and my modern sensibility reveals this via color, light and subject matter.  
 
If you missed earlier posts, click here.
From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

